States and Capital in India / Union Territories in India

States and Capital in India / Union Territories in India

The original states were defined by following previous, British territories and provinces. This was changed in 1956 with the State Reorganization Act which separated states based on the majority language spoken within the region. The map shows India, a country in southern Asia that occupies the greater part of the Indian subcontinent. India is bordered by Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma (Myanmar), China (Xizang – Tibet Autonomous Region), Nepal, and Pakistan, it shares maritime borders with Indonesia, Maldives, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. It has a market economy in which the prices of goods and services are determined in a free price system. India is a member of the Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA) and the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC). We are help to improve your knowledge for States and Capital in India.

 States and Capital in India

It is one of the largely diverse countries across the globe that is divided into different states and union territories for governmental purposes. Each state of India is culturally unique and is a treasure trove of various art forms, languages, food and traditions. The system of state government closely resembles that of the Union. This article will answer all your questions and clear all your doubts related to the states and capital in India. India is a very spiritual country. It has no official religion, but more than 80 percent of Indians are Hindu. About 13 percent are Muslim. Other religions include Buddhism, Sikhism, and Jainism, which all began in India.

Indian States and their Chief Ministers

Andhra Pradesh

Capital – Amaravati

Number of Districts – 13

Chief Minister – YS Jagan Mohan Reddy


Arunachal Pradesh

Capital – Itanagar

Number of Districts – 25

Chief Minister – Shri Pema Khandu



Capital – Dispur

Number of Districts – 34

Chief Minister – Himanta Biswa Sarma



Capital – Patna

Number of Districts – 38

Chief Minister – Nitish Kumar



Capital – Raipur

Number of Districts – 32

Chief Minister – Bhupesh Baghel



Capital – Gandhinagar

Number of Districts – 33

Chief Minister – Bhupendrabhai Patel



Capital – Panaji

Number of Districts – 2

Chief Minister – Pramod Sawant



Capital: Chandigarh

Number of Districts – 22

Chief Minister: Manohar Lal Khattar


Himachal Pradesh

Capital: Shimla (Summer), Dharamshala (Winter)

Number of Districts – 12

Chief Minister: Jai Ram Thakur



Capital: Ranchi

Number of Districts – 24

Chief Minister: Hemant Soren



Capital: Bengaluru

Number of Districts – 31

Chief Minister: Basavaraj Bommai



Capital: Thiruvananthapuram

Number of Districts – 14

Chief Minister: Shri Pinarayi Vijayan



Capital: Mumbai (summer), Nagpur (winter)

Number of Districts – 36

Chief Minister: Shri Uddhav Thackeray



Capital: Imphal

Number of Districts – 16

Chief Minister: Shri N. Biren Singh



Capital: Shillong

Number of Districts – 11

Chief Minister: Shri Conrad Kongkal Sangma



Capital: Aizawl

Number of Districts – 11

Chief Minister: Shri Pu Zoramthanga


Madhya Pradesh

Capital: Bhopal

Number of Districts – 55

Chief Minister: Shri Shivraj Singh Chouhan



Capital: Kohima

Number of Districts – 12

Chief Minister: Shri Neiphiu Rio



Capital: Bhubaneswar

Number of Districts – 30

Chief Minister: Shri Naveen Patnaik



Capital: Chandigarh

Number of Districts – 23

Chief Minister: Shri Charanjit Singh Channi



Capital: Jaipur

Number of Districts – 33

Chief Minister: Shri Ashok Gehlot



Capital: Gangtok

Number of Districts – 06

Chief Minister: Shri PS Golay


Tamil Nadu

Capital: Chennai

Number of Districts – 38

Chief Minister: Shri M. K. Stalin



Capital: Hyderabad

Number of Districts – 33

Chief Minister: Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao



Capital: Agartala

Number of Districts – 08

Chief Minister: Shri Biplab Kumar Deb


Uttar Pradesh

Capital: Lucknow

Number of Districts – 75

Chief Minister: Shri Yogi Adityanath



Capital: Bhararisain (summer), Dehradun (winter)

Number of Districts – 13

Chief Minister: Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami


West Bengal

Capital: Kolkata

Number of Districts – 23

Chief Minister: Smt Mamata Banerjee

Union Territories and Capital in India

India is the second-most populous country in the world (after China), with an estimated population of 1.37 billion people (in 2020). The country is subdivided into 29 states and seven Union Territories. India, a union of states, is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government. The President is the constitutional head of Executive of the Union. The territories are controlled by the federal government.  All the states of our country are diverse and unique culturally, politically, and demographically. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in India. Union Territories are governed by President of India. The President is the executive head of the country and the Governors are the executive heads of states.


Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Capital: Port Blair

Number of Districts – 03

Lieutenant Governor: Shri Devendra Kumar Joshi



Capital: Chandigarh

Number of Districts – 01

Administrator: Shri Banwarilal Purohit


Dadra & Nagar  Haveli and Daman and Diu

Capital: Daman

Number of Districts – 03

Administrator: Shri Praful Patel 



Capital: Kavaratti

Number of Districts – 01

Administrator: Shri Praful Patel



Capital: Puducherry

Number of Districts – 04

Chief Minister: Shri N. Rangaswamy

Lieutenant Governor: Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan



Capital: Delhi

Number of Districts – 11

Chief Minister: Shri Arvind Kejriwal

Lieutenant Governor: Shri Anil Baijal


Jammu and Kashmir

Capital: Srinagar (summer), Jammu (winter)

Number of Districts – 20

Lieutenant Governor: Shri Manoj Sinha



Capital: Leh (summer), Kargil (winter)

Number of Districts – 02

Lieutenant Governor: Shri Radha Krishna Mathur


You Can also Search for..

Union Territories in India

Indian States and their Districts

States and their Chief Ministers in India


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.